No Butter Lactation Cookies

Pumping for Baby KenjiI have so much respect for breast feeding mamas, especially working breast feeding mamas. It’s very common for working moms to experience a drop in their lactation when they return to work. Juggling work and pumping throughout the day can be challenging and stressful. Fortunately, there are several remedies you can try to improve lactation, but eating delicious cookies seemed way more appealing… said the foodie in rehab. You might be wondering what makes this a lactation cookie? The lactation ingredients are brewer’s yeast, flaxseed meal and oats. So, you can add more or less depending on your preference.

I researched several recipes and found one that received high ratings. I made a few substitutions to create my own healthier version. I ultimately cut the sugar and used unsweetened applesauce instead of butter. I also used brown rice flour instead of all purpose flour. I started to notice a difference in my milk supply within 2 days. I was pumping 1 to 3 oz more than I would normally pump, which varied depending on the frequency.

Get the recipe

Did you try this recipe? I’d love to see pics and hear your feedback.

Leave a Reply

